APHA-SA Annual Meeting Student Scholarship

The APHA-SA Annual Meeting Student Scholarship Fund was started in 2005 with the goal of increasing student attendance at the APHA Annual Meeting. In its first year, 4 scholarships were awarded to students to assist with the costs of registration for the meeting, and this year, we were able to support 11 students through this scholarship fund.

Past Student Scholarship Award recipients are:

Friend of the Student Assembly Award

The Friend of the Student Assembly Award, formerly know as the Friend of the Caucus Award, is given annually to an individual who has been very influential in the success of APHA-SA activities, programs or initiatives. Recipients are nominated by members of APHA-SA and are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of APHA-SA.

Past Friend of the Student Assembly Award recipients are:

2006 - Barry S. Levy, MD, MPH, Public Health Advocate
(pictured below with 2006 SA Chair Meredith Masel)

2005 - Fran Atkinson, APHA Manager of Section Affairs
(pictured below with 2005 SA Chair George Karageorgiou)

2004 - Jay Bernhardt, Director, National Center for Health Marketing, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2003 - Georges Benjamin, APHA Executive Director
2002 - Barbara Hatcher, APHA Director of Scientific and Professional Affairs
2001 - Ultan Cleary, Webdez Solutions
2000 - John R. Moore, past Chair of APHA's Intersectional Council
1999 - Barbara Reck, APHA Director of Membership

Mentor of the Year Award

The Mentor of the Year Award is given annually to a mentor who has contributed unselfishly to the growth and development of a mentee. Members of APHA-SA nominate their own mentor and provide a statement detailing why their mentor is deserving of this award.

Past Mentor of the Year Award recipients are:

2005 - Sherry Weingart, MPH
2003 - Nicholas Oliver, American Heart Association
2002 - Ray Martin, Chair of APHA's International Health Section and the Executive Director of Christian Connections for International Health
2001 - Joseph S. Gladstone, Tohono O'odham Nation, Department of Human Services
2000 - Joanna Cohen, University of Toronto
1999 - Kelli A. Komro, University of Minnesota

Website comments or suggestions? the webmaster.
Last Update 02/02/2006 13:52:26 -0500 (EST)